Trad

PC Invasion Hardware Year in Review: 2021

Throughout 2021, PC Invasion’s hardware team has been able to review some of the latest components, peripherals, and more. Some have been pretty great products, while others could’ve used more time in the shop. From keyboards and cases to CPUs and GPUs, here’s the hardware PC Invasion has reviewed throughout 2021 that you may want to check out for yourself. 

Just for note, the reviews are listed from earliest to newest. We’ll also update the list as we post more reviews through the end of the year, so bookmark this page to stay up to date.

Corsair iCue 5000x case

Corsair Icue 5000x Case Review

Beoordelingsdatum: 15 januari 2021
score: 9 / 10
Recensent: Kevin Foley
Link to review

From Our Review: 

Corsair uses angles to channel the air around the glass front panel and to the fans, with the same design providing heat removal via the roof vent. Usually, intakes are far too restricted to provide the necessary volumes of air needed to cool components properly. I thought that would be the case for the front and top panels, but I actually didn’t see any temperature differences when testing my system under full load with the panels off. Corsair clearly spent a lot of time testing the spacing here to get almost identical results to the Airflow D version of this case.

…There are a lot of great computer cases out there, but Corsair clearly strikes a nice balance between style, quality, build features, and cooling potential with the iCue 5000x.

Find it on:

Newegg

AGON AG493UCX 49″ Super Ultrawide monitor

Agon Ag493ucx Review 3

Credit: AOC.

Beoordelingsdatum: 1 februari 2021
score: 6.5 / 10
Recensent: Kurt Perry
Link to review

From Our Review: 

The AGON AG493UCX itself is a well-made, fascinating piece of technology that offers many of the core features gamers will be interested in. Unlike many of its direct competitors, its high refresh rate and low response time make playing competitive games viable. However, the few benefits of having a 32:9 monitor are generally outweighed by the irritations it can cause on a daily basis. Until game developers are willing to integrate better support for the 32:9 aspect ratio, it will never be the optimal way to play most games.

Find it on:

Amazone

Atlantic Viper 3000 Gaming Desk

Atlantic Viper 3000 Gaming Desk Review

(credit: Atlantic)

Beoordelingsdatum: 11 februari 2021
score: 7.5 / 10
Recensent: Mike Straw
Link to review

From Our Review: 

It’s fairly basic from a features standpoint, but does everything advertised well. The quality USB hub will be the most endearing feature for many, and it’s a comfortable sit at no matter your height or the height of your chair.

If you need storage or shelving, however, this isn’t going to be one you should gravitate towards. But, if you’re just looking for a desk that looks good (and if you werkelijk like blue), is reliable, and can comfortably support you and all you need on it, the Viper 3000 is definitely worth the look.

Find it on:

Amazone

Corsair Katar Pro XT ultra-light gaming mouse

Corsair Katar Pro XT Review

Credit: Corsair

Beoordelingsdatum: 25 februari 2021
score: 8 / 10
Recensent: Otto Kratky
Link to review

From Our Review: 

The Corsair Katar Pro XT is just a fine mouse. It’s not great, it doesn’t exceed expectations, but it doesn’t exactly fall too far below them either. The truth is that I would pick this mouse up in a heartbeat if I really needed one, and that’s mostly because of its price. The Katar Pro XT will retail for just $29.99 USD when it releases, an extremely low cost for a gaming mouse, especially one from a premium brand like Corsair.

Find it on:

Amazone
GameStop
Newegg

Loupedeck Live

Loupedeck Live review

Beoordelingsdatum: Maart 3
score: 8 / 10
Recensent: Mike Straw
Link to review

From Our Review: 

The Loupedeck Live is a great option for anyone needing more than the basic macros on their keyboard. Whether you are editing videos and need a scrubbing dial or even just want something for quicker shortcuts to open software and folders, there’s really nothing the Loupedeck Live can’t make easier.

Assuming you want to use it for only streaming, you’d be better off elsewhere for now. There’s just a bit too much missing for it to surpass the Stream Deck in that regard.

Find it on:

Amazone

Corsair K65 RGB Mini

Corsair K65 Rgb Mini Review Web

Beoordelingsdatum: Maart 16
score: 9 / 10
Recensent: Kevin Foley
Link to review

From Our Review: 

This is a great, portable solution that should appeal to esports FPS players and those with limited desk space, though it won’t work for everyone. However, Corsair made an excellent product for its respective class. The company also seems to be taking feedback seriously, as this product’s upgrade to USB 3.0 addressed one of our few gripes in the K100 review. The Corsair K65 RGB Mini raises the bar for 60% mechanical keyboards.

Find it on:

Amazone
Zeerover

Corsair MP600 Core

Corsair MP600 Core SSD

The attached aluminum heatspreader keeps the SSD cool under heavy loads.

Beoordelingsdatum: Maart 31
score: 7 / 10
Recensent: Mike Straw
Link to review

From Our Review: 

The results, though lower than you’d expect, shouldn’t be viewed as too surprising. QLC-based SSDs, which the MP600 Core is, tend to slow down under heavy transfers. The 200GB folder took about 35 minutes in total to complete. As one of the only QLC PCIe 4.0 drives on the market, it’s still a solid performer. And it’s going to be quite a bit cheaper than the TLC options out there.

Overall, it’s hard not to like what Corsair has done with the MP600 Core. Though the file transfer speed may cause pause, being able to take programs that have long load times and speed them up by over 70% should interest anyone.

Find it on:

Amazone
Zeerover
Newegg

Intel Core i7-11700K gaming performance

Intel 11700k Review Gaming

Beoordelingsdatum: 8 april 2021
score: 7.5 / 10
Recensent: Kevin Foley
Link to review

From Our Review: 

All in all, you’ll pay a premium not only to get the 11700K, but to use it to its full potential. Sure, it’s a CPU that is more than capable of churning out hundreds of frames at 1080p and offers arguably decent features for future proofing, but it doesn’t stand out as the definitive choice for value-oriented buyers. To make the most of this CPU, you’ll also need to get a new motherboard as well as an adequate cooling solution. Tack on a new GPU that supports Resizable BAR and a PCIe 4.0 SSD and you’re looking at a big investment. There are simply more cost-effective options right now that offer similar performance. For these reasons we can’t recommend the 11700K over other options unless you have a very specific use case for it like gaming and livestreaming at the highest quality.

Find it on:

Amazone
Newegg

Corsair Sabre RGB Pro Champion Series mouse

Corsair Sabre Rgb Pro Champion Series Web

Beoordelingsdatum: 9 april 2021
score: 9 / 10
Recensent: Kevin Foley
Link to review

From Our Review: 

A lot of companies love to make flashy marketing claims, but they don’t always translate into actual substance. In this case though, our takeaway impressions are that the Sabre is entirely worth it, even if the full 8,000Hz hyper-polling isn’t in use. The CPU scene is about to get a lot more competitive in the coming years though, so you can almost think of the monstrous polling capability as a bit of a built-in future proofing measure by Corsair.

Find it on:

Amazone
Zeerover

Anda Seat T-Pro 2 gaming chair

Anda Seat T Pro 2 Review Material Overview

Beoordelingsdatum: 29 april 2021
score: 8 / 10
Recensent: Kevin Foley
Link to review

From Our Review: 

The Anda Seat T-Pro 2 is a great option for taller (and somewhat bigger) people that love the style of gaming chairs yet don’t want to compromise on comfort or quality. As for the product itself, we can definitely recommend it. Anda Seat shows that its gaming chairs rank up there with the best in the business. The frame is solid, the cushioning and upholstery is comfortable and of a high quality, and the lumbar support pillow is useful.  The fabric should also hold up better than PVC leather, and if yours suffers from any defects, there’s an extended warranty plan for you to use. Judging by the build quality though, this chair should stand the test of time.

Find it on:

Anda Seat

Astro A20 Gen 2 wireless gaming headset

Astro A20 Gen 2 Pc

The Astro A20 can be easily switched between PC and console platforms.

Beoordelingsdatum: 30 april 2021
score: 7.5 / 10
Recensent: Steven Wong
Link to review

From Our Review: 

There’s no denying that the Astro A20 Gen 2 provides superb sound for games, music, and movies. Once you have all the settings locked in, you can sit back and go on an all-day gaming marathon. With its strong signal and range, I didn’t even have to take it off when grabbing my food delivery from my doorstep.

The exceptional wireless audio performance trumps just about all the usability issues. I wouldn’t call the A20 one of my favorite headsets from Astro, but it certainly does an excellent job of immersing you in games. Ultimately, that’s all that matters.

Find it on:

Astro Gaming
Amazone

Corsair K55 RGB Pro XT gaming keyboard

Corsair K55 Rgb Pro Xt met polssteun

Beoordelingsdatum: 5 mei 2021
score: 9 / 10
Recensent: Otto Kratky
Link to review

From Our Review: 

The Corsair K55 RGB Pro XT is a standout keyboard with very few flaws. It offers a premium typing experience all while being a solid keyboard for gaming. While it’s too large for the average user, anyone with the desk space and reasons to use its macro keys should consider the K55 RGB Pro XT as their daily driver.

Find it on:

Amazone
Zeerover

Secretlab Omega review

Secretlab Omega gaming chair review

(credit: Secretlab)

Beoordelingsdatum: 7 mei 2021
score: 9.5 / 10
Recensent: Mike Straw
Link to review

From Our Review: 

Like with any other piece of furniture, the old adage of “you get what you pay for” is often true. With the Secretlab Omega Stealth, that remains the case. Whether you want it for the work day at home or long gaming sessions, this chair provides a level of comfort you’d expect from something that might cost double.

If you are on the border of the size restrictions and don’t like a snug fit, you may want to consider jumping up to the Titan model.

Find it on:

Secretlab

Anda Seat Masks 1200 gaming desk

Anda Seat Masks Rgb

Beoordelingsdatum: 13 mei 2021
score: 4.5 / 10
Recensent: Kevin Foley
Link to review

From Our Review: 

The Masks desk simply feels out of date for its price point. 15 years ago, it might have been hailed as an impressive gaming desk. But there are simply way more impressive and higher quality features that can be had in desks these days. Often times for much less money. I found plenty of suspiciously similar desks at various online merchants under other brand names for a fraction of the price. I suspect Anda Seat customized the Masks gaming desk for its brand, but the parts come from the same manufacturer that the other brands use.

Find it on:

Anda Seat

MOJO Pro Performance Silent Gaming Mouse

Mojo Silent Mouse Review 4

Beoordelingsdatum: 14 mei 2021
score: 8.5 / 10
Recensent: Andrew Farrell
Link to review

From Our Review: 

The “silent” part of the name is somewhat misleading, but this has quickly become my go-to gaming mouse, and I don’t see myself switching it for anything else, period. It’s a well-made, responsive mouse that does most of what you’d expect better than other quiet mice. It’s an easy recommendation for someone who has a hearing sensitivity, doesn’t wish to wake their partner at night, or simply likes a quieter mouse.

Find it on:

Amazone

Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless XT headset

Virtuoso Xt 17

(credit: Corsair)

Beoordelingsdatum: 20 mei 2021
score: 9.5 / 10
Recensent: Mike Straw
Link to review

From Our Review: 

Whether it’s quality or price, the Corsair Virtuoso RGB Wireless XT headset is anything but cheap. The headset feels sturdy, it withstands the grip (or lack thereof) of a three-year-old, and has sound quality that matches that of premium audio-only headsets.

Being able to connect to two devices at once while also having separate volume controls for each is a major selling point, and the included Dolby Atmos license is a nice incentive.

Find it on:

Amazone
Zeerover

Corsair K70 RGB TKL Champion Series mechanical keyboard

Corsair K70 Tkl Rgb Pro Champion Series 2021 Mechanical Keyboard View 1

Beoordelingsdatum: 21 June 2021
score: 9.5 / 10
Recensent: Kevin Foley
Link to review

From Our Review: 

Faults are few and far between with the K70 TKL Champion Series. With competitive pricing, functional controls, solid build quality, attention to detail, and the best response times on the market, this is one of the best overall keyboards on the market for FPS and MOBA genres at the moment. iCUE also offers plenty of RGB and custom macro options, while the board itself has storable profiles and extra competitive features like profile lock. This model has the potential to improve in a few small ways, but it’s sure to please most in its current iteration.

Find it on:

Amazone
Zeerover

EPOS H3 gaming headset

Epos H3 Hybrid Review Overview Gaming Headset 2

Beoordelingsdatum: 30 June 2021
score: 8.5 / 10
Recensent: Kevin Foley
Link to review

From Our Review: 

The H3 provides killer sound for all forms of entertainment no matter how you power it. The build quality, design, and comfort are all there as well. If you don’t mind paying a little extra compared to other products, you’ll be pleased what it has to offer. With that said, the costs start to add up if you choose to invest in a basic amp and buy the longer cable separately.

Find it on:

Amazone
Episch

Hardware guides March – December are on the next page.

https://www.pcinvasion.com/pc-invasion-hardware-year-in-review-2021/ PC Invasion Hardware Year in Review: 2021

Terug naar bovenkant pagina knop
Fermer